College of Medicine Continuing Ed Gets Top Marks

CME office The CME Office team is proud of its hard-earned Accreditation with Commendation. Pictured are (back row) Miranda Morris and Chimera Hampton; (front row) Karen Fleming and Lea Mabry. Associate Dean for CME and Faculty Affairs Jeannette Shorey II, M.D., and Business Manager Marsha Taylor were unavailable for the photo.

Aug. 21, 2013 | The University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences (UAMS) College of Medicine Continuing Medical Education (CME) Office, the only nationally accredited provider in Arkansas, received a six-year Accreditation with Commendation, the highest level awarded by the Accreditation Council for Continuing Education (ACCME).

The College of Medicine’s CME Office coordinates state-of-the-art, evidence-based continuing medical education for faculty physicians at UAMS and physicians practicing throughout the state. The office works with several respected national groups such as the Crohn’s and Colitis Foundation of America and the American Academy on Communication in Healthcare (AACH).

“The Accreditation with Commendation takes us from a four-year reaccreditation cycle to a six-year cycle, saving countless hours of work that goes into the laborious process of applying for ACCME reaccreditation and a considerable amount of money in fees,” said Jeannette Shorey II, M.D., associate dean for CME and faculty affairs.

Shorey credited the work of CME Director Lea Mabry.

“Lea led her team very well and guided the required self-study expertly,” Shorey said. “Lea is an educator who deeply understands the educational design and progress improvement methodologies that are so highly valued by the ACCME.”

The ACCME evaluates institutions based on the rigorous standards of seven sponsoring organizations including the American Medical Association, the Association of American Medical Colleges and the American Board of Medical Specialties.

Physicians, as well as others on health care teams, rely on accredited continuing medical education to help them deliver high-quality and safe patient care. Physicians in Arkansas are required to obtain at least 20 hours of American Medical Association Physician’s Recognition Award (AMA PRA) Category 1 credits each year to maintain their license. In Arkansas, most CME credits are awarded through CME activities accredited by the College of Medicine.

In 2006, the ACCME raised the bar for providing accredited CME activities. Meeting this challenge required considerable changes in long-standing policies and procedures. The UAMS CME team had to reinvent its work within the office and with colleagues across the college and state.

“Change can be painful, and our team handled the pressure professionally, displaying a can-do attitude while handling a large volume of activities and participant data,” Mabry said. “The CME team is instrumental in guiding program directors, planners and CME associates through the often tedious paperwork required to plan and document each activity. The team’s diligence at achieving excellence can be attributed to everyone understanding the criteria and gently but firmly applying the rigorous requirements for every CME activity.”

The CME Office offers a full-range of services from instructional design and educational planning to coordination details.

Recent Video

Contact Us

4301 West Markham Street
Little Rock, Arkansas 72205


 Women's Health