Tariq Named Outstanding Woman Faculty Member

Sara Tariq, M.D., (left) receives the Outstanding Woman Faculty Award from last year’s recipient, Dana Gaddy, Ph.D.

Newly elected Women’s Faculty Development Caucus Secretary Molly Gathright, M.D., (right) and newly elected President Wendy Ward, Ph.D., visit during the organization’s annual spring dinner.

May 2, 2013 | Sara Tariq, M.D., assistant dean for undergraduate clinical education in the UAMS College of Medicine, received the 2013 Outstanding Woman Faculty Award from the college’s Women’s Faculty Development Caucus.

Tariq, who is also an associate professor in the Department of Internal Medicine, was recognized April 16 at the caucus’ annual dinner as “a passionate educator, serving daily to shape the minds and hearts of a new generation of physicians.” She is an award-winning clinician and teacher who works extensively with medical students, residents and fellows in training, and with faculty colleagues.

As caucus president for the past two years, Tariq championed issues relating to representation of women in medical school. In 2006, she developed the Women’s Health Senior Elective in the College of Medicine, and she has continued to mentor six to eight students per year in the course. Among many national roles, she has served on the Society of General Internal Medicine’s Women’s Health Education Competency Committee since 2005.  

Tariq has directed the Introduction to Clinical Medicine II course since joining the UAMS faculty in 2002. She serves as medical director of the Clinical Skills Center and the Center for Clinical Skills Education and Simulation. She has received numerous student- and resident-selected teaching awards at UAMS. National honors include the 2010 Herbert S. Waxman Award for Outstanding Medical Student Educator from the American Academy of Physicians.

“What an honor it is for me to be included in a list of such amazing women,” Tariq said after Dana Gaddy, Ph.D., last year’s award winner, announced Tariq as the winner. 

The other nominees were:  Laurie Barber, M.D., a professor in the Department of Ophthalmology; Laura James, M.D., professor and chief of the Clinical Pharmacology & Toxicology Section in the Department of Pediatrics; Laura Lamps, M.D., professor and vice chair for academic affairs in the Department of Pathology; and Carmelita Pablo, M.D., professor and chair of the Department of Anesthesiology.

The caucus elected new officers to two-year terms: Wendy Ward, Ph.D., associate professor of pediatrics, president; Laura Sisterhen, M.D., assistant professor of pediatrics, vice president; and Molly Gathright, M.D., assistant professor of psychiatry, secretary.

Recent Video

Contact Us

4301 West Markham Street
Little Rock, Arkansas 72205


 Women's Health